Wednesday, January 29, 2014

Cooperstown Inducts First Hall of Fame Class

On Jan. 29, 1936, the first-ever induction class for the National Baseball Hall of Fame was announced.

Five players became the first members of the hallowed halls located in Cooperstown, N.Y.

Ty Cobb, Walter Johnson, Christy Mathewson, Babe Ruth and Honus Wagner were the inaugural class of baseball's hall of fame.

The idea of a hall of fame for baseball was recognized in 1935 as the sport became America's pastime.

Since the inception of the Baseball Hall of Fame in Cooperstown, New York their have been 306 members elected.
Included are 208 former major league players, 28 executives, 35 Negro leaguers, 19 managers and 10 umpires. 

The Baseball Writers’ Association of America has elected 112 candidates to the Hall while the Committees on managers, umpires, executives and long-retired players (in all of its forms) has chosen 162 deserving candidates (96 major leaguers, 28 executives, 19 managers, nine Negro Leaguers and 10 umpires). The defunct “Committee on Negro Baseball Leagues” selected nine men between 1971-77 and the Special Committee on Negro Leagues in 2006, elected 17 Negro Leaguers.

There are currently 68 living members.

By position, there are: 74 pitchers, 17 catchers, 22 first basemen, 20 second basemen, 15 third basemen, 24 shortstops, 21 left fielders, 23 center fielders, 24 right fielders, 23 managers, 10 umpires and 33 executives.

This year three players, Tom Glavine, Greg Maddux and Frank Thomas were inducted into Cooperstown, all as first ballot Hall of Famers.
While Bobby Cox, Tony La Russa and Joe Torre were inducted as managers.